Approximately two months before your Florida vehicle registration is due, you will receive a courtesy registration renewal notice. This will be mailed to the address on file. If we have an email on file, you also will receive a courtesy email reminder approximately one month before your registration is due.
There are three ways you can renew your vehicle registration in Volusia County.
Renew your motor vehicle registration online by 2 p.m. and you can pick it up the same day in one of our offices or have it mailed to you. You will need:
The Tax Collector does not receive any portion of the service fees.
To renew a registration, you will need:
Mail your payment and receive your new registration either by mail or pick it up at one of our offices. You will need:
Proof of Florida insurance (binder, policy or card) from a certified Florida agent is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida. The vehicle owner must present to the tax collector documentation of property injury protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 and protection damage liability (PDL) insurance in the amount of $10,000. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the insurance requirement. Florida residents who are on military assignment outside of Florida are not required to submit proof of Florida insurance coverage. This exemption does not apply to vehicles registered solely in the name of a non-military spouse or dependent(s) of the military member. Required forms for military members are online at https://www.flhsmv.gov/military/titles-registrations-military-members/
To maintain accurate records, all changes of address must be reported to the tax collector office within 20 days. It is the responsibility of each registered owner to ensure that the vehicle’s registration is current. Renewal notices are mailed as a courtesy service only to help facilitate the renewal process.
While there is no fee to change an address, duplicate registrations are $3 in the office, $3.75 by mail and $5.75 online.
There are three ways to change your address or request a duplicate registration:
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can withhold the registration of a motor vehicle for the following reasons:
Registration stops should be indicated on registration renewal notices.
Should an e-check payment be returned to our office as unpaid by your bank, Florida Statute 68.065 authorizes the tax collector to assess a service charge.
DO NOT USE money market accounts or credit card checks for e-check payments.
All motor vehicles being registered in Florida for the first time must have the vehicle identification number (VIN) verified (Form 82042). The tax collector office performs this service as a courtesy at the time of registration (weather permitting). The VIN can also be verified by any law enforcement officer, a Florida notary public or a Florida motor vehicle dealer.
EXCEPTION: All used vehicles coming into Florida from a foreign country must have the vehicle identification number verified by a DMV Compliance Examiner/Inspector. This does not include vehicles from American Samoa, Virgin Islands, Guam or Puerto Rico.