Frequently asked questions


  1. Can I change my address on my concealed weapon license at your office? No, you will need to contact the State directly to notify them of your change of address.
  2. Can I renew my concealed weapon license at your office? Yes. You must bring a photo ID (a driver license or state-issued identification card), your payment, any legal documentation concerning a name change and your renewal notice.
  3. Is my personal information still protected and exempt from public record if I apply in person at your office? This convenience does not change the integrity of the concealed weapon license program. All personal identifying information of applicants and licensees will continue to be confidential and exempt from disclosure as public records. (Section 790.0601, Florida Statutes)
  4. Is your office responsible for deciding who is eligible to receive a concealed weapon license? No, our office accepts applications, takes ID photos and fingerprints applicants. The State will continue to process all applications and make determinations regarding an applicant’s eligibility for licensure.
  5. How do I make an appointment? Click to make an appointment. Appointments are required.
  6. How long will it take to complete the application process in your office? You should be able to complete the entire application process in our office in less than 30 minutes. The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) will review your application. You can check the status of your application by calling (850) 245-5691 and selecting option 1 or by visiting the FDACS website. The State will process your application within 90 days or less.
  7. How long will it take for the State to process my concealed weapon license application? By law, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) has 90 days from the date your complete application is submitted to process it (Section 790.06, Florida Statutes). However, using our fast-track process, the wait is considerably shorter. You may always check on the status of your application by calling (850) 245-5691 and selecting option 1 or by visiting the FDACS website.
  8. What will happen once I arrive at your office? One of our staff members will direct you to a computer station where you will complete an online application. You do not need to complete an application form in advance of your appointment. We also will take your photograph and electronically scan your fingerprints.
  9. What should I bring with me to the tax collector’s office?
    For original licenses
    • A driver license or State-issued ID card.
    • A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms you are proficient with a firearm. View acceptable documentation.
    • If you have ever been arrested, you should bring certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you.
    • If you were born outside the United States or if you are a permanent legal resident alien, you must bring official documentation that confirms your citizenship status.

    For renewals
    • A driver license or State-issued ID card.
    • Your concealed weapon license number or concealed weapon license renewal notice.
    • Legal name change documentation, if applicable.

    More frequently asked questions are online at FDACS.